Skip to content

EuroNASCAR Kicks-Off In Spain With Even More Contenders


After a hugely successful first edition – over 14.000 fans attended the event last year – Spain will host once again the NASCAR Whelen Euro Series season opener at the Circuit De La Comunidad Valenciana Ricardo Tormo in the contest of the Valencia American Fest.

Ander Vilariño
Ander Vilariño (Chevrolet)

With all the contenders from a record-setting 2014 season coming back and some more added to the list, there are all the premises for another thrilling battle for the European NASCAR Championship title, as well as for Trophies and Cups.

29 cars and 55 drivers from 13 different nationalities are scheduled to take the green flag for the first round. In the ELITE 1 Division all the five 2014 title contenders are back and at least ten drivers will nurture legitimate title ambitions. Anthony Kumpen (#24 PK Carsport Chevrolet SS) will look to defend his title, while Ander Vilarino (#2 TFT-Banco Santander Chevrolet SS) will try to get his crown back. 2014 race winners Eddie Cheever III (#51 CAAL Racing Chevrolet SS), Borja Garcia (#1 Active Racing Competition) and Frederic Gabillon (#3 Tepac RDV Competition Ford Mustang) will try to bring home the EuroNASCAR title, as will Bert Longin (#11 PK Carsport Chevrolet SS), Freddy Nordstrom (#44 GDL Racing Ford Mustang), Christophe Bouchut (#66 DF1 Racing Chevrolet SS), Romain Iannetta (#7 TFT Chevrolet SS), Nicolò Rocca (#56 CAAL Racing Chevrolet SS) and Alon Day (#54 CAAL Racing Chevrolet SS).

Borja García podium
Borja García

It will go down to an “each against all” battle in the ELITE 2 Division, where the title is vacant and many drivers have title ambitions. Thomas Ferrando (#37 Knauf Racing Ford Mustang), Philipp Lietz (#67 GDL Racing Ford Mustang) and Denis Dupont (#32 RCP/Marc VDS Toyota Camry) have all won in 2014 and will be among the favourites. Salvador Tineo Arroyo (#1 Active Racing Competition Ford Mustang), Gianmarco Ercoli (#9 Double T by DAV Racing Chevrolet SS) and Stienes Longin (#11 PK Carsport Chevrolet SS) didn’t win, despite clearly demonstrating to have what it takes, but many of the newcomers will try to surprise the opponents in the 2015 season opener.